Yes. It sure was and yes, it was weird. I would just want to jump right into working but no. We had to go trough all the practical stuff about what´s where and how to use this and that first. I study “Muinaistekniikka” at Mynämäki. It´s a bit difficult to translate well, but I think ” Ancient Techniques” covers it. It is essentially handcrafts such as wood-, leather-, horn-, bone- and metalworking, not to forget textiles and ceramics. It is a quite wast field, but somewhat heavier on the traditional techniques side than on modern production.

Next week we will be trying tablet weaving, or so I´ve heard. I really look forward to that. I have been meaning to try it but never actually got that far. I´ll put up some pictures as soon as i have gotten started on it!

And please! If you know any sites, blogs or portfolios related to handcrafts and traditional crafts then please do tell. It is always fun to read about other peoples work and compare techniques and results and maybe even get a contact or two!